LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF DANE COUNTY 2019-20 ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

Originally scheduled for May 13, 2020 at 7pm

Meeting conducted remotely by U.S. mail due to Coronavirus Stay at Home orders

Introduction/Background

Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers issued a statewide Safer at Home order on March 24, 2020. The order became effective March 25.

On April 7, 2020, all LWVDC members were sent a letter from LWVDC President Aileen Nettleton, along with the traditional annual meeting materials, via US mail. The letter explained that the meeting would not be held in person as scheduled for May 13 due to the Safer at Home order. The packet also included a paper ballot to be used for mail-in voting.

Bylaws Review and Revisions

Article III, Section 3, of the LWVDC bylaws prohibits a written ballot process for the election of officers or directors. As stated in President Nettleton's letter, the State League (LWVWI) changed their policies to allow written ballots. Local Wisconsin chapter bylaws are subsumed by this change.

Marilyn Stephen created a ballot for the Annual Meeting that meets LWVWI criteria. President Aileen Nettleton approved the ballot and sent it to LWVWI for final review. The LWVWI found that the ballot met all their criteria.

Process for 2020 Annual Meeting Business

- 1. Members were asked to review the annual meeting packet materials sent by mail.
- 2. Members were asked to complete a written ballot (Appendix I).
- 3. Members who voted needed to mail their ballot to the LWVDC office with a postmark on or before May 15 (return postage paid envelope included). At that time the office was closed and all mail was being forwarded to the home of finance chair Jean Jacobson.
- 4. Per LWVDC bylaws, votes are to be counted by 2 LWVDC members. Due to Safer at Home orders, this required 2 members who live in the same household. Aileen Nettleton and Al Nettleton counted the ballots on May 18 after picking them up at Jean Jacobson's home.

Results

159 ballots were mailed by the deadline. Per LWVDC bylaws, 30 votes are needed for a quorum.

➤ The slate of candidates for the 2021 Board and the 2020 Nominating committee proposed by the nominating committee were approved 159 - 0.

> The New Board Members Are:

- o President Christine Clements (2020 2022)
- o Co-Vice President Marilyn Stephen (2020 2022)
- Co-Vice President Jean Jacobson (2020 2022)
- Treasurer Jean Jacobson (2020 2022)
- Directors:
 - Fundraising Linda Dietrich (2020 2022)
 - Program Georgiana Hernandez (2020 2022)
 - Membership Co-Directors Mary Ellen Schmit (2020-2021) and Joan Schwartz (2020 – 2022)
 - Publicity Co-Directors Bonnie Chang and Laura Grueneberg (2020 2022)

➤ Nominating Committee for 2020 - 2021:

- Jan Van Vleck, Chair
- Elizabeth Kanne
- Gail Krc
- 2020-2021 Budget was approved 158 0 with 1 abstention
- 2020-2021 Program was approved 158 1. Two focus areas are Climate Crisis and Making Democracy Work.

Several members included congratulatory comments on their ballots such as:

"Thanks. Great report and meeting material. Impressive!"

"Wow" An excellent year end report. The candidates for Board positions are very impressive. Look forward to the year ahead."

Some members also enclosed donation checks to support the League's work.

Process for Approval of Annual Meeting Minutes

Joan Provencher, LWVDC Secretary, and Aileen Nettleton, LWVDC President, discussed and prepared the minutes. In lieu of the normal process of appointing 2 readers at the Annual Meeting for final approval, the minutes were sent to the Executive Committee (Nettleton, Clements, Anglim and Soltvedt) for final approval.

Respectfully submitted, Joan Provencher LWVDC Secretary



SIGNATURE OF MEMBER

LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF DANE COUNTY 2019-20 ANNUAL MEETING BALLOT

MUST BE POSTMARKED BY MAY 15

NOTE: The Bylaws state that thirty members shall constitute a quorum to conduct business at all membership meetings of the LWVDC, therefore at least thirty ballots must be completed and returned to LWVDC, 720 Hill Street, Suite 200, Madison, WI, 53705, in the enclosed envelope.

ELECTION You may vote either for the slate or for individual candidates. YES NO I approve of the **complete slate** as presented below. **OFFICERS** President **Christine Clements** Co-Vice President Marilyn Stephen Co-Vice President Jean Jacobson Treasurer Jean Jacobson **DIRECTORS** Fundraising Chair Linda Dietrich Membership Co-Chair Mary Ellen Schmit Membership Co-Chair Joan Schwarz Program Chair Georgiana Hernandez **Publicity Co-Chair Bonnie Chang Publicity Co-Chair** Laura Grueneberg NOMINATING COMMITTEE Chair Jan Van Vleck Member Elizabeth Kanne Member Gail Krc NOTE: Passage of Program and Budget requires approval by a majority (more than 50%) of the votes cast. Approval of the 2020-21 PROGRAM YES ____ NO ____ (Making Democracy Work, Climate Crisis) YES ____ NO ____ Approval of the 2020-21 BUDGET

DATE