Ingrid Rothe to Receive Meg McLane Award for Advocacy

Ingrid Rothe to Receive Meg McLane Award for Advocacy

Ingrid Rothe, Vice-President of the League of Women Voters—Dane County and Co-Chair of the Dane County Voter ID Coalition, has been named as the 2017 recipient of the statewide Meg McLane Award for Advocacy by the League of Women Voters of Wisconsin (LWVWI).

The annual award recognizes a League member who is an outstanding advocate working for positive policy changes in WI.

Ingrid has been involved with League issues dating back to the 1980’s, when she worked with the League to achieve marital property reform. More recently, she served as Co-President and now Vice-President of the Dane County League. 

Working together with the NAACP Dane County Branch, the League established the Dane County Voter ID Coalition, which eventually numbered more than a dozen member organizations and nearly 150 individuals. The Coalition worked tirelessly and creatively to help area residents learn about and obtain the voter photo IDs they would need to vote.

As Co-Chair of the Coalition, Ingrid worked with the Dane County Clerk to establish a system for free cab rides to the DMV for voters who needed an ID. She also worked with the City of Madison Clerk in organizing several “Check Out Voting” events at libraries.

In addition to her work locally, Ingrid serves on the state league legislative committee, which evaluates proposals introduced in the WI legislature and determines whether or not the league will take a stand on specific legislative issues.

This award was announced on April 5 by Andrea Kaminski, the Executive Director of the LWVWI, at a forum sponsored by the LWVDC. The award ceremony is scheduled for Saturday June 10 at the LWVWI Annual Meeting in Green Bay.